Executive 2020-2021

William Sweet



Will Sweet is Director of the Centre for Philosophy, Theology, and Cultural Traditions and Professor of Philosophy at St Francis Xavier University in Nova Scotia. He is also Coordinator of the Catholic Studies Program there.  His areas of interest include philosophical theology and Asian Christianities.

Jane Barter



Jane Barter is Professor of Religion and Culture at the University of Winnipeg. Her research interests include Christian political thought, feminist theory, and continental philosophy of religion. She has published two monographs of Christian Theology: Lord, Giver of Life (Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2006) and Thinking Christ: Christology and Contemporary Critics (Fortress Press, 2011).

Catherine MacLean



Catherine Faith MacLean is Senior Minister at St. Paul’s United Church, Edmonton. Her research interests include preaching doctrine and pastoral identity, and she appreciates the perspective of Wilfred Cantwell Smith in her practice. Together with John H. Young, she published Preaching the Big Questions: Doctrine isn’t Dusty (United Church of Canada, 2015). Catherine is a two-time Louisville grantee.

Nick Olkovich



Nick Olkovich is Assistant Professor and Marie Anne Blondin Chair in Catholic Theology at St. Mark’s College, Vancouver, BC. His research focuses primarily on the relationship between ethics, politics and religion in democratic contexts and on a variety of issues in theological anthropology, fundamental ecclesiology, and foundational theology. His teaching and research is influenced by the work of philosopher and theologian Bernard Lonergan.

Gordon Rixon



Gordon Rixon, S.J., is Associate Professor of Systematic Theology at Regis College, University of Toronto.  He is a specialist in Lonergan studies, systematic theology, and the relation of mysticism and co-developmental (personal, cultural, social and ecological) transformation. He is presently working on a manuscript entitled Transforming Dynamics of Grace: Faith that Does Justice and Appreciates Beauty. He is a Research Scholar at the Lonergan Research Institute and a former Dean of Regis College.

Christopher Hrynkow

Communications Coordinator


Christopher Hrynkow is Associate Professor, Department Head, Graduate Chair, and Undergraduate Chair in the Department of Religion and Culture, St. Thomas More College, University of Saskatchewan. His teaching, research, and community outreach draw upon a passion for ecological, peace, and political theologies. 

Chanelle Robinson

Student Representative


Chanelle Robinson is a doctoral student at Boston College. She has also taught at Niagra University. Her work contributes to womanist theology and broadly focusses on the intersection between ecclesiology and liberative approaches to theology.  

Jean-Pierre Fortin

Program Coordinator


Jean-Pierre Fortin is Assistant Professor of Practical Theology at the University of St. Michael’s College in the University of Toronto. There he teaches the Theology of Ministry and Reflection Seminar classes. He also oversees field placements in the Master of Divinity and Master of Religious Education at the University of St. Michael’s College. Jean-Pierre is an expert in the scholarship and teaching of spiritual direction and has published Grace in Auschwitz: A Holocaust Christology (Fortress Press, 2016).